A Song Of Hope-You Are My God You Are My Everything

A Song Of Hope

I wrote this song, I think it was the end of 2007. I prayed for words for a song that was not filled with sadness, like the last song was, a Song Of Peace, the song whose words came to me as I awoke from sleep, from my dreams. And God gave me the words and the melody to sing them with, almost right away He answered my Prayers.

You Are My God, You Are My Everything

Verse 1

Peace, like a river flowing through a valley

Standing on a mountain top

Watching the Sun turn darkness into light

Walking on the beach

Barefoot, feeling the sand beneath my feet

Hearing the crash of the waves against the shore

Playing in the rain in the summertime

Feeling the power of the wind before a storm

Chorus

I’m so alive

And such memories

Come into my mind

Such beauty you have shown me

Such places you’ve taken me, my God

You are my everything

The beginning, the end, and all that’s in between

I wake up in the morning

With the gift of a song

On my lips

And I rush to write it all down

And I will sing your praises for the rest of the day

I will sing your praises every day of my life

I will sing your praises forever and ever

You are my God, you are my God

Verse 2

Peace, like a river flowing through a valley

Standing on a cliff

Overlooking the ocean

Knowing with faith, I can push this mountain into the sea

Driving through the countryside

Rolling hills, blue skies, bales of hay everywhere

Baby horses stand beside  their mothers

Night time, gazing up into a star filled sky

Watching a rainbow form after a summer’s rain

Repeat Chorus

Verse 3

Peace, like a river flowing through a valley

14000 feet high

In the Colorado Rockies

Looking down from the top of the world

Onto such beauty, such grandeur, such majesty

God’s presence so intense

Immersing me, consuming me

And I know no dreams are too big for my God

There are no troubles I can’t handle

With God by my side

All dreams are achievable

Nothing is impossible

Repeat Chorus

Ending

Peace, like a river flowing through a valley

Carrying me through this world

Carrying me home

Leave a Reply

