I Have A Dream

I Have A Dream

This is a journal post I had on another website, I am trying to move my journal posts there to this blog.

Written Friday, February 17, 2012, 12:41 PM

I went to Parent teacher Conferences for my twins yesterday afternoon, they are 11 and in the 6th Grade. I was so moved by this writing of my son, on the wall outside his classroom. Each of the children had to write their own dream speech, patterned after the dream of Martin Luther King, Jr. I saw his words from his heart, and my heart completely understood all he wrote.

Here is what he wrote:

I Have A Dream

” I have a dream that one day our armed forces will stop murdering innocent people. We keep saying we are doing it in self defense. We keep saying we are doing it because of 9/11. That was just under 11 years ago. We need to let that go. What we are doing to them is no better than what they did to us. That is one thing that us and our enemies have in common, killing thousands of innocent people. I’m tired of people saying that their brothers, uncles, dads are in foreign countries protecting us when really they are- for no reason-killing thousands of innocent people. I know people say that it’s war, but really we are just the leaders of a very huge massacre. I have this dream to end this nonsense and to start a new era of peace.”

We can transform the world, if we live our lives as a child, through the eyes of a child, with the heart of a child, believing all dreams are possible and letting Jesus lead us and guide us in His way to achieve those dreams He places in our hearts. His way, love your enemies, for God made the Sun rise on and the rain come down on them, too. He loves them, too. His way, I give you a new command, love one another as I have loved you. Jesus, the truth, the life, and the way. And so I pray, Lord, God, show us your way, us, your creations, your children, let us take the power of the Holy Spirit living in us, take it with boldness and without fear, and transform our world, with Jesus living in us, nothing is impossible. And to God be all the Glory! We are nothing without Him. In Jesus name I pray, Amen

Sherri

February 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

