Open My Eyes, God

Open My Eyes, God

This is the first song I wrote, along with Looking Down From Heaven, back in 2006.  Still making changes, to get it more right, it is a never ending process, the words, the cities.

And is not just about speaking to others about Jesus, the Gospel, the Good News, faith. It is equally as much about sharing our lives with others. And I realize that, more than ever now, today, that there is every much as much hostility from the world in trying to do that, as there is in sharing my faith. I guess another away to look at the bigger picture, though, is that sharing our lives with others is a part of sharing our faith and sharing God with others.

This song was was written in 2006, the first version of it, right before the war between Israel and Hezbollah, fought inside Lebanon primarily, what I like to call the war between Israel and the civilians of Lebanon, that killed over 1000 civilians in Lebanon, over 90% of those killed inside Lebanon were civilians. Bombs raining down on the civilians of Lebanon, literally an unfinished and unwritten song, in itself.

And Becoming Children of God, today, more than ever, I realize there is so much more in that, that I do not fully understand about that. Maybe, I need another verse, when I understand this more fully, if that is when I am still here and able to make a revision, that is. I just do not read John 3:16 the same way I used to read it, back in 2006, and my understanding is always in a state of change. That is exactly as it should be, the hidden meaning, the hidden secrets  in the Parables is revealed throughout our lives, in our walks with Christ, in lives lived with Christ, in Christ.. I still fully believe it, John 3:16. “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish but have everlasting Life.” I believe the words now more than ever. My faith only grows. I simply think it has a much more broader meaning, a much fuller meaning than I ever before realized, it is much more Alive than I ever realized it was before. The Word is Alive. Amazing, the way the Holy Spirit shines Light on new Truths, every single day of our lives. How great is my God, How great is my God, How great is my God, and How I lift up your name and praise you for who you are!  And always, in Jesus name I pray!

Open My Eyes, God

Every breath that I take

I owe it all to you, God

Everyone in this world

Created by you, God

From Beebe, Arkansas to Tehran, Iran

From My Lai, Vietnam to Hiroshima, Japan

Everyone in this world

Made in the image of you, God

Molded into who we are, by you, God

Chorus

Open my eyes, God

Help me to see

This beautiful world, God

That you made for me

And everyone else in this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to feel

Love for my neighbors

All over this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to be

The person who I, God

Was created to be

Verse 2

For God so loved this world

That he gave up his Son

To die on that Cross at Cavalry

To save us and this world from sin

From Falluja, Iraq to Beirut, Lebanon

From Kigala, Rwanda to Darfur, Sudan

God wants us to all know about Christ

Repent from our sins

And become Children of God

Chorus

Open my eyes, God

Help me to see

This beautiful world, God

That you made for me

And everyone else in this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to feel

Love for my neighbors

All over this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to be

The person who I, God

Was created to be

Verse 3

God commands us to love Him

With all of our hearts

With all of our minds

And with all of our souls

From Abu Ghraib, Iraq to Kandahar, Afghanistan

From Jerusalem, Israel to Gaza, Palestine

God commands  us to love Him

And love one another

For God is all about Love

Chorus

Open my eyes, God

Help me to see

This beautiful world, God

That you made for me

And everyone else in this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to feel

Love for my neighbors

All over this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to be

The person who I, God

Was Created to be

Verse 4

How do we love one another?

By reaching out and caring for others

By sharing with everyone else in this world

How God has changed our lives

From Havana, Cuba to Caracas, Venezuela

From New Delhi, India to Karachi, Pakistan

Let us join hands and pray for each other

And share our faith and our lives

With everyone in this world

Chorus

Open my eyes, God

Help me to see

This beautiful world, God

That you made for me

And everyone else in this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to feel

Love for my neighbors

All over this world

Open my eyes, God

Help me to be

The person who I, God

Was created to be

Sherri Munnerlyn

April 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

