The Love Of a Mother/ As Palestinian Hunger Strikers Starve, A Mother Waits

As Palestinian hunger strikers starve, a mother waits

By Yara Borgal, NBC News, NBC News

“JENIN, West Bank – Im Hisham, 65, spends her days sitting in her home in Kufur Raei village near here waiting for news about her 27-year-old son, Bilal Diab.”

Bilal Diab was drug from his home in the middle of the night on August 16, 2011, and his mother has not seen him since. He has become the face of the Palestinian hunger strikers, one of the thousands of unlawfully detained men, women, and children who Israel holds unlawfully under international law, subjecting to egregious daily human rights abuses that violate the Fourth Geneva Convention and other international treaties Israel is subject to by agreement, by her treaty obligations. And as I wrrite this, thousands of unlawfully detained Palestinian political prisoners detained in prisons by Israel continue their hunger strikes/fasts, two men in Day 75 of their hunger strikes for justice and freedom and for their basic human rights to be honored. Every single one of these prisoners is the face of man sacrificing self for the love of others, they follow in the footsteps of Gandhi, Martin Luther king, Jr, even Jesus Christ.

“I haven’t seen my son since the day Israeli Special Forces raided our home in the middle of the night and arrested him in front of my eyes,” she said of the incident on Aug. 16, 2011. “They gave him administrative detention for six months and when the six months ended they extended his detention for six more without charges or trial.”

“I am constantly listening to the news hoping to hear anything about my son,” she said. “I haven’t been allowed to see him for nine months now. Every time I close my eyes I can see him lying in a bed, looking pale, thin and weak, and I tell him to stay strong and that victory is near.

“I know that my son’s health is suffering as a cause of the hunger strike but I don’t dare think that something bad will happen to him. I just want to see my son, touch his face and tell him that everything will be ok. I will die if anything happens to him.”

worldnews.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/05/11…

We see in the hunger strike of Palestinian Gandhi Bilal Diab the love of a mother for her son come to life, we see the Inhumanity of Israel and this unholy 45+ year Occupation, brought into the Light for the world to see, to mourn, to cry out to God over. I think that is what these hunger strikes are more than anything else, the essence of what they are, cries out to God for Justice.

And we find ourselves on Saturday morning, May 12, 2012, in Day 75 of Palestinian Prisoner Bilal Diab’s hunger strike against unlawful administrative detentions imposed by the Isreali Occupier of Palestine, by a man now near death who has not even been charged with the commission of a crime.

My Prayers are with Bilal Diab and all of the thousands of hunger strikers now sitting unlawfully detained in Israel’s prisons. May they turn to God and find comfort in God, may God hear their cries for Justice and intervene to end the unjust Occupation and free these unlawfully detained men, women, and children. In Jesus name I Pray, Amen.

Sherri

Leave a Reply

